Determination

Helen KellerWe recenly re-aquired the “Value Tales” books from Mom’s house (Thanks Mom!) and have been using them for FHE.  Our first book was about Helen Keller and the value of Determination.

EJ loved the new FHE format- we got to read a book with lots of pictures, and she really “got” the story of Helen Keller. It was also an appropriate value, since we’ve been working with her on not giving up when tasks are hard.

When I took the girls out on my new bike in the bike trailer for the first time, I didn’t realize that the ENTIRE ride home is uphill. I’m not in the best of shape anyway, and adding 70 lb of kids in a bike trailer didn’t make the climb easier.  I asked the girls to cheer me on and we talked about Helen Keller and not giving up.

About a week later, EJ was riding her little bike around the front of our house. There is a “loop” of sidewalk and on one side there is a bit of an incline.  She was struggling to ride up the small hill and said “Look Mom, I’m determinationing!”

May 20, 2009. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Kate replied:

    Awesome story! I remember those books, what a great idea to use them for FHE. Obviously they’re effective!

  2. Brad replied:

    I remember those books as well. One of them in particular scared me, I think it had somthing to do with being kid napped. Fun times.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

